Writing journeys; downs and ups

keyboard03

My personal NaNoWriMo challenge isn’t working out as well as I hoped. I don’t reach my word count, but I find I’m still writing more fiction than I have in the past.

I even adjusted the challenge- 500 words of fiction and 500 of non-fiction, since I have a non-fiction eBook idea that keeps nagging at me.

Either way, I’m writing more towards my goal than before, and anything is better than nothing. After all- 250 words is a page in a paperback. (if in Courier font). Specifically, it is .7 of a page. Five hundred words make 1.4 pages.

CaptureWant to know how to calculate it? Use this link to Words to Pages. Its an online calculator where you add the word count, and font, and it calculates the number of pages. It’s free!

I got my first considerable check from Amazon the other day. I realized when I got it that it includes all book purchases on my Amazon account. Its not all ‘my’ money, however. The funds are primarily from the anthologies, so they go towards the meetup group.

I got about $25, and that doesn’t count the print-on-demand via Createspace. I haven’t earned enough yet from there. Its not a lot, but will help in paying the Organizer dues at Meetup.com, food, and printing fees.

I also get a small sum from blog subscriptions via Kindle Publishing for Blogs. Since I blog anyway, it doesn’t hurt to get a bit extra money. (less than $2 monthly) Unfortunately, where my blog subscription is posted doesn’t list my name, nor does it show other blogs I’ve added.

A Writer’s Journey Blog

Moon and Shadow

Learnthepc.net

I’m hoping to post my personal blog, just in case someone might find it fun to read.  I write about writing, blogging, crafts, photography, funny things my family said/did, my pets, and I share resources, tips, and links, too.

There’s no cost either, although you need approval, and you just need to know your blog RSS feed. I use a site called Feedburner to list mine, and get an RSS feed from there.

If you have a blog about writing, link in comments. I’d love to see it.

Leave a comment