Tuesday Tip: JulNoWriMo

JulNoWriMo   July Novel Writing MonthI only just learned of JulNoWriMo, and being I’m already neck deep in a novel, with tons of other writing, there’s just no way I’m able to join this. I felt my readers might want to jump on the bandwagon and try their hand at writing 50,000 words in 30 days (in the month of July).

I realize that it’s the fourth and some writers don’t’ want to start a new project, let alone jump in four days into a 50,000 contest, but those who want to test their skills, I say go for it.

I did the NaNoWriMo years ago and it taught me a few things;

  1. That I could write 50,000 in 30 days. I didn’t know that I was capable of such an endeavor.
  2. That I should shut off my inner editor and focus on writing to the story finished. I’ll have time for re-writes later.
  3. That 50,000 words when my son is in school is easier to do where I now homeschool him.
  4. My husband was amazingly supportive through the month.

I can’t say I want to do it again. One month for 50,000 words is just too much of a grind. I see the merit of writing daily, to write towards the finish, but I also value a relaxed method of writing where I can enjoy the time writing rather than pushing myself to the point of hand cramping and eye strain.

I do think its something a writer should try at least once, just to see what they are made of.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment