The writer I was yesterday….

july quote

This quote felt right since the past few years left me very uncertain of my writer ability. My confidence waned after I published and found so few wanted to buy my short stories for only a $1.00. If I couldn’t get friends and family to purchase, how can I find strangers online?

I remind myself that I can’t stop writing. After all, the stories continue to rattle around in my head. The characters want their stories told. I just need to muster motivation- or better yet, resolve, to complete and publish again.

One other issue that’s made writing difficult is my eyes. I’ve always had bad vision, but as I get older, and now require bifocals, it’s like looking through binoculars at the world.

I’ve been told the risk of retinal tearing also increased with aging, when I already had the potential of going blind since I was a kid. (I have thin retinas as well as very bad astigmatism, and the shape of the entire eyeball is wrong). Two eye doctors said it was the worst astigmatism they’ve seen in their careers. Needless to say, reading is a chore now.

I figure ‘slow and steady wins the race’ so even if I can get a few hundred words in fiction done each day, it is better than nothing. I hope it will be enough to satisfy the writing gods (and my characters).

Currently, I’m working on the following:

A sequel to Into the Shade, my short story published on Amazon Kindle Singles. You can also find my other short story, Fireflies: A Vampire Story. I have three anthologies I published but don’t have stories in some of them. See my Amazon Author Page.

I have three other short stories all vying for attention, as well as a novel series with vampires, and two e-workbooks I want to publish before the end of the year. I’m not sure if that will happen, but I’ll keep at it.

WordPress Tags: , ,

2 Comments

Filed under Author, Blog

2 responses to “The writer I was yesterday….

  1. I can’t wait to read (and pay for) the Into the Shade sequel

    Like

Leave a Reply

