My top writer phone apps

I finally updated to an iPhone 7 Pro from the iPhone 4S. The size difference is considerable. I thought it would bother me more, but between the much improved camera and larger screen (my eyes are not so great) I’m adapting quickly to it.

So I though I’d share with you some of my top apps that I think writers might like;

mswordMS Word app– A full word processor, I would also note this does not include the fonts you would have on your laptop/desktop computer. You can however open and save DOC files, typing up novels no matter where you are at the time.

Cost: Trial period for 30 days then various monthly cost with Office 365 subscription. This is $6.99 – $99.99 depending on which plan. I already have a subscription so this was free for me.

openofficeOpenOffice App– Unlike  MS Word, this app includes the ‘suite’ of Openoffice software. This means you get the word processor, spreadsheet, and presentation elements of OpenOffice.

Cost: $5.99. This is a flat cost not subscription.

googledocGoogle Docs is a free word processor app that connects to your Google Drive account. This connects to your Google account, so links with the Google Drive.

Cost: Free

***The iPhone comes with a robust Notes app already installed.

 

iDeasiDeas for Writing is a fun app that helps you with ideas with prompts. This includes First Lines, Title, Character, and Five Words. I’ve used this my writers group. The app looks good, provide ideas, workshop (writing techniques challenges), and a built-in notebook so you can jot down ideas or take on the writing prompts.

Cost: $2.99 for the app.

storyplanner

Story Planner enables you to outline plots, characters, locations, scenes, and more. This exports to Scrivener, Final Draft, into PDF or DOCX formats, or just plain text. This app syncs with iCloud so your work is backed up,

Cost: $3.99

Writer Lists includes tons of lists for ideas. You can pick names, roles, body types, appearance, personalities, plots, setting, and more.  I use this to look up elements of a story or browse for ideas.

Cost: $2.99

canvaCanva is the official Canva.com app. Here, you can create designs such as book covers, but also design graphics for Facebook, web sites, Twitter, business cards, and more.  You can create an entire media kit for your author brand.  You can save designs as PDF or PNG formats.

Cost: Free

What are your favorite apps? Ever considered writing a novel with your smartphone? Comment below.

4 Comments

Filed under Links, Program, Writer

4 responses to “My top writer phone apps

  1. Not sure about the mobile app but I do know Canva on desktop you have to watch out because lots of the elements and backgrounds do actually cost to use plus the media brand kit you have to pay for the monthly membership, to access that feature, I I did look into the upgrade to do the branding thing but you actually still have to pay for the elements on top, there is not a lot extra included

    Like

    • That is true. Each element is like $1, which is still cheaper if you design a book cover and need some nice graphics. If you get stock photos, they can get expensive for commercial use.

      Like

      • Yeah I just felt if you were paying for the membership/upgrade to be able to do the branding kit that they should actually allow so many elements free as part of it or at least once you pay for an element within that upgrade it should be available to be reused for longer than 24 hours

        Like

        • And isn’t it that you design something, you still can’t use that same element for something else until you pay another $1 for it? If I buy a commercial license for a photo, I can use it (generally) forever. I guess you get what you pay for.

          Like

Leave a Reply

