Multiple Blogging

MultipleBloggingThere are times I take on too many projects, or in my case, blogs. I thought you might find them interesting, but also, I wanted to share the idea that writers, or would-be authors, might benefit from blogging on their interests.

writersjourneyA Writer’s Journey is this blog, that focuses on the writer audience. I share resources, links, video, and my own journey with writing that includes publishing but also the craft of writing. Embedded in The Western MD Writers site. www.westernmdwriters.com

moonshadowMoon and Shadow focuses on the pagan (earth centered religions) traditions including ritual, beliefs, crafts, and activities that celebrate the pagan religion. I focus on the elements of faith to help guide and balance our lives.

lpcblogLearnthepc.net Blog is my business blog where I share tips and hacks, reviews, and other technology related topics. This is embedded in my web site Learnthepc.net.

mlaAnd finally, My Life is an Adventure, my personal blog, which I occasional post about my life and interests. This is linked to my web site SharonPoffinberger.com.


So you might be asking yourself “How the heck does she do all that?” Well, sadly, I don’t. I tend to ignore posting regularly like I should. But I can share tips that I intend on following.

  • Schedule your writing. Blogging should be done regularly, but however you wish to blog is up to you. You can post daily, weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly, but be consistent.
  • Brainstorm topics to write about. This is easy for me, and I keep a folder under my browser bookmarks entitled ‘blog ideas’. This includes topics specific to each blog as well as ideas to spark more ideas. I also keep a notebook for ideas I want to write about each month.
  • Vary the length of your posts. Consider mixing longer posts with shorter posts. Some blogging can include only mentioning a link to a resource, or a graphic you wish to share with your readers.
  • Quality over quantity. I notice many great blogs include quality posts that might be infrequent, as opposed to many posts that can overwhelm the reader.
  • Topic consistency. Unlike my personal blog which tends to cover topics from homeschool, to pagan topics, to writing, to funny things that interest me, a good blog should focus on a genre of ideas.
  • Call to action. This area I tend to forget or not do for various reasons. It sounds so ‘salesy’ to me, like I’m hawking wares on a street corner or something. Blogs generally ask readers to do something such as share links to the post/blog, to join a mailing list, to subscribe, or take some sort of action that benefits the blogger. It’s a good idea, but I don’t like blogs/sites that pop up messages demanding I do this so I don’t on my blogs/sites.

Do you blog? Share in comments. Do you blog more than one blog? Let me know. I’d be curious your experiences and advice you’d like to share.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Links, tip

Leave a Reply

