2016 Writer’s Goals from Mistakes

writergoals

A new year. Some new goals. Okay, maybe not so new. I’m still going to write more and publish fiction as well as some non-fiction this year. But if anything 2015 taught me, you have to learn from your mistakes.

Mistake #1Not dedicated the time to fiction writing. I’m finding non-fiction easier to write because it’s simply numbers-time-watch-whiteputting down what is already in my head to paper, but fiction proves more challenging because, you know, characters. They tend to take over the plot and take you in a direction you don’t want to go, or you get stuck with a plot point. If you’re a writer, you know what I mean.

I hoped to do a page a day this month, but I’m finding missing a day tends to overwhelm me. ‘What? Now I have two pages?’ and something comes up. “Oh no, now three pages?” Already, I’m not liking the writing idea at all.

So now, the goal is based on time increments, not word counts or pages. I’m going to write at least an hour a day, if not more. We’ll see if the Writer’s Muse is kind.

Mistake # 2- Too many things distract me. Ideas Blog Graphic 300x300tend to bubble up and nag me to write them instead of my currents project, so I’ll need to tuck the idea away for a later date. I also need to cut way back on the task list, focusing on what is important.

I think I’m a multi-task addict, because I feel kind of a withdrawal when I’m not doing tons of things at once. I hope with practice, I can calm the ‘monkey mind’ and focus on one thing at a time.

These two mistakes lent to much of my non-writing issues. So now, let’s cover my goals for 2016;

1.  Publish my novel. I have about eight chapters in, but already found some reworking that needs done.

2. Publish the two short stories rattling around in my head.

3. Publish another anthology for the writer’s group. That will make it anthology #3, if anyone is counting.

4. Publish the non-fiction e-workbooks I have ‘in the works’. I’ll cover more of that in later posts.

5. Add more blog posts about the actual writing process I go through including plotting, character development, book cover design, and more.

So what are your main writing goals? Add your comments below, or write a blog post and share the link in comments. Winking smile

“Don’t be a writer. BE WRITING!” –

William Faulkner

4 Comments

Filed under The Writer's Journey, Writing Goals

4 responses to “2016 Writer’s Goals from Mistakes

  1. wouldn’t that be anthology #4?

    Like

  2. One of my biggest mistakes in the past was not to spend enough time marketing the work that I’ve already completed. I hope to rectify some of that in 2016.

    Like

Leave a Reply

