NaNoWriMo 2015 Prep

The NaoNoWriMo, known as The National Novel Writing Month, was started in 1999 by Creative writer, Chris Baty. (see No Plot? No Problem!).

If you check out the web site, it explains the basic rules of writing fiction of 50,000 in thirty days in any genre, including fanfiction.

Back in 2007, I completed the National Novel Writing Month challenge. I learned a great deal, however, I’m not sure if I’d dedicate that sort of time again. Grueling, time consuming, I found myself not enjoying the writing process at all. It was much like boot camp; forcing you to write through pain, doubt, and everything else.

But others take on the NaNoWriMo almost every year, and I often suggest writers try it at least once for the experience, to see what you learn about yourself. Even if you fail to reach the 50,000 words in 30 days challenge, you still gain insight into yourself.

My tips:

  • Get writing done early in the day. I set my time for this because if things come up, you still have the rest of the day to make up the word count.
  • Get friends and family on board. My first time, I ended up friending someone who ended up teasing me when I fell behind- DO NOT DO THAT. You want a support system, not naysayers or competition. You want encouragement, not someone to cut you down.
  • Have your plot and characters planned out before November 1. In 2011, I tried NaNoWriMo but had nothing planned and quit a week into it. It was too stretched between ideas and plot changes to accomplish much. Have the most basic of conflict>climax>resolution outlined.
  • Don’t beat yourself up if you miss a day. You can make up the word count on a weekend or tacking on writing time throughout the week.
  • Even if you don’t reach the 50,000, the process can still prove valuable as a learning tool, as well giving you a block of writing you can edit later.

Post in comments your own experience with the NaNoWriMo, if you plan to join this year, or questions/comments about it. Winking smile

1 Comment

Filed under Nanowrimo, tip

One response to “NaNoWriMo 2015 Prep

  1. Christine

    I’m participating this year, and you are right, it is very stressful! I’m approaching the 50,000 mark, but I’m not sure this is something I will do again next year. Like you, I have found that it is draining some of the joy out of writing.

    But maybe I’ll feel differently as the end of the month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

