Writer Technical Difficulties

KeyboardLPC

My son’s laptop decided to crap out on him and being the computer geek of the family, I was the one to fix it. The issues was that the PC refused to load to windows.

I attempted to use a repair disk. That didn’t work.

Tried Safe Mode. That didn’t work. (You enter Safe Mode by tapping F8 when the computer starts up).

I tried formatting and restoring, but the boot disk caused some error about the DVD driver couldn’t recognize it.

How to create a Windows Boot disk.

I tried booting from the USB. That didn’t work.

Unfortunately, it proved a bit too much so after two days of trial and error, I gave in and took it to our local PC shop. (www.potomaccomputers.net) The guy is really nice and let me hang around to talk computers, and he took my business cards in case anyone needed help with learning about computers. My business is www.learnthepc.net.

Save your work to a cloud drive or USB/Flash drive, and save regularly. I prefer Dropbox as it syncs regularly and the folder works like any other folder on my computer. This will then sync to my iPhone and tablet, which also connects to the dropbox.

Check your local area for computer shops that fix computers at reasonable prices. Some of them even provide ‘loaners’, and even sell inexpensive computers. Check reviews, and ask friends and family who they recommend.

Don’t let a technical difficulty prevent you from writing. In my case, I was the one trying to fix the computer,  but if I didn’t make the attempt, I could always use a notebook and pen.

Keep writing, and appease the computer gods. Winking smile

Leave a comment

Filed under tip

Leave a Reply

