How I made my blog header

I created my own design for my blog, but I use a template. So I felt it might help my readers if they should want to personalize their own sites.

Your first step is to understand graphic sizes. With some web sites, you have ‘headers’, or banner graphics. There are two ways you can size up theses graphics

1. Right click the mouse over the graphic to get a pop up menu and select ‘save image as…’ . Sometimes, however, this downloads the entire HTML file which is the web page and all the graphics.

2. Go to Google search (or the search of your choice) and type in the blog or web site host. In my case, it was Weebly (for web site) and WordPress (for blogs). Then add ‘header graphic size dimensions’.

For example.

“Weebly header graphic size dimensions”

This searches the web for specifics to the dimension sizes. You often find results will include support or help pages from the host site.

Banner graphics tend to be about 720 px wide. Height varies, and you may find you will need to use the trail-and-error method to finding the correct size.

Once you understand graphic sizes, now you need to design your graphic.

I have Photoshop CS2, but you can also use Sumopaint, Gimp, or Canva will let you design your own graphics.

frootbat31AMake graphics- Consider the elements of branding your site such as texture, color, and of course the graphics you’ll use. If you take note, my banner uses snap shots of actual pages of writing I’ve done. The pencil and computer are separate graphics layered onto a single graphic. I then added the ‘post it’ note.

Where to find graphics? There are plenty of stock graphics, but you often pay money to use, due to copyright. You should look for original graphics by you or someone you know, with permission.

istockphoto.com

Shutterstock.com

IMG_3542Take photos of your writing space, computer, keyboard, pens, pencils, etc. But if you note the photo here, its messy and chaotic. Not a good photo. I’d clean it up first, then add that, or take something more artistic to add.

Alternatively, you can also consider a stream-lined, text based graphic instead.

Once made, upload to your site, but also consider the following;

Matching a graphic for online profiles. On profiles, you can add graphics that use the same color, text/font, graphics as your site, which will further brand your site.

Add the same style to business cards. Again, sparking a ‘brand recognition’ for people.

Do you have tips or suggestions- post in comments. I’d love to hear from you. If you need help, you can also contact me. I can create graphics for a small fee.

Leave a comment

Filed under Handy Links and Resources, Marketing, tip, Writer

Leave a Reply

