Odds and ends of inspiration

keyboardThe other day, my son asked me what I was doing. This is his ‘lead-in’ to asking me to do something for him. I admit, I decided to show off, (and deter him from asking) explaining exactly what I was doing-

Me: “Well, I was reading up on Vimana, the flying temples from the Sanskrit Epics of India”

My son: What?

Me: Well I’m not exactly sure how I found this article, its inspired me to make a story about it.

I see a little light spark in his eyes, his realization that yes, his mother is a storyteller and has a wild imagination. I shared with him the ghost stories I happened upon. I also showed him the odds and ends I found that day-

Here is the Potoo Bird from the New World, who are in the same Family as Nightjars and Frogmouths. Aside from the goofy appearance, it illustrates one of the better forms of camouflage by sitting on a branch and appearing as a branch. I’m not sure if I’ll include this into a story, but the bizarre eyes really caught my attention. Maybe it will inspire an alien or character.

This graphic I found in a search for Halloween decorations, and I started to think how it could inspire a story. Would the glasses be found, and no body of the victim? Could the injury spark a story for a character? Oh the possibilities!

tumblr_mk5ppp19lT1rnvzfwo1_500

And then I found this; a prompt about your characters discuss you. It was fun considering I have a number of stories ‘in the works’, and so the tone and attitude changed depending on which characters. The site offers lots of neat prompts.

Keep track of how you find your inspiration, and feel free to share in comments some of the more unique ways you’ve found your spark of creativity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prompt, tip

Leave a Reply

