Productivity Hack Gone Awry

lifehacker I found this well-intentioned article on Lifehacker.com that gives some tips of having a more productive day; Spend the first 30 minutes of the day reading news and email, and make a checklist for the day.

Okay, so this might work for some people, but for me, I find reading news takes longer than 30 minutes, and has nothing to do with being productive in my day. Neither is checking email. It only takes me a few minutes anyway, but it’s sites like Facebook and Pinterest that snatches away hours of my time.

So here are my tips to offer to the Internet;

Get the worst thing done first. Once its out of the way, the rest of your ‘to do’ list will be easy.

Plan the night before what you’ll do the next day. The article suggests planning that morning; I say plan the night before if not the week before. I often plan on Sunday for the week ahead, so that saves me oodles of time. All I have to do is check my list to see what to expect in appointments, chores, writing assignments, and anything else I find important. I sometimes include word counts for each day.

Don’t find motivation, just get it done. You don’t need motivation as much as resolve in getting it done.  If you put it on your ‘to do’ list, you must have deemed the task important enough to just get it done.

Get up a little earlier in the morning. If you can’t find the time in the morning to get everything done, get to bed earlier to waken earlier, and get it done then.

Although I agree that getting things done first and foremost in the morning hours works best, being productive means getting it all out of the way first thing.

1 Comment

Filed under Friday Fun Tip, Goals, Writer

One response to “Productivity Hack Gone Awry

  1. Gabbrielle Suarez

    I have to agree with you.
    Productivity tips are effective only if the person is comfortable doing it. I do most of these tips and I find them pretty effective especially getting up early in the morning.
    For me, the greatest advice I could share to you from an awesome post is that to be able to be productive, you should love what you do and do those things you are good at. It will inspire you to work harder and do better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

