The publishing to Kindle Singles…so far

Learning how to format the document for Kindle singles took a bit longer than expected, but it is done. The short story is official published. Unfortunately, I screwed up the book cover on the first try so that needs to be fixed before I post the link to my blog. I wanted to share a few things that I felt were needed to be shared for those interested in this method of publishing;

Your book cover graphic should be 2500 x 1900.  Include title and the author’s name. Don’t include ‘by Your Name’. It doesn’t look right. Amazon provides a ‘placeholder’ type book cover if you don’t have one.

Preview your book before publishing. I used Mobipocket Creator (free) to create the file, and used Kindle Viewer to preview. I was rather surprised how different my book appeared in the program.

Edit and do rewrites. Remember your story goes public and will be open to reviews. Go through and check spelling, grammar, and strengthen writing before publishing. I liked using feedback from my fellow writers, but also a site called Paper Rater. It checks for a number of things and provides a report. Its also free.

Check formatting. Amazon has a pretty extensive page and PDF documents on this topics, but I found this article helpful in giving the basics and using basic language.

Check and double-check everything about the book, then publish. You will need to wait about 12 hours for it to go ‘live’, and for me, it was maybe 6 hours.

Have you published yet? What was your experience? What are your thoughts on this method of publishing? Post in comments below.

2 Comments

Filed under Editing, Publishing, resources, Review, Writer

2 responses to “The publishing to Kindle Singles…so far

  1. Thanks for posting this. I never know exactly what dimensions my cover should be. Someone suggested a ratio of 6:1 but I thought it looked weird.
    Good luck with your book! Can’t wait to see it! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I have to admit- I did a search before designing my cover and found too many posts on the topic of format, but nothing basic to this specifically. I figured posting it would help others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

