Being crazy and making changes

Albert Einstein said “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results”. So I suppose to some extent, I am insane. I keep falling into the same bad habits, giving the same excuses, and somehow expecting something will change.

I wait for things to change on their own. Yeah…crazy, right? I suppose in some ways that might happen. Life offers plenty of change all the time. Very little remains static. My life,however, tends to lag, and that needs to change.

If I want change to happen, I have to make it happen. Am I expected Life (or some prince charming) to save me from this mundane existence? Like the hero of any story, I need  to set that foot onto the path of revision, and make things happen.

One change I’m doing is switching to weekly goals rather than monthly. Let me tell you; its easy to put things off when you think have the month to do them. A week gives just the right balance of ‘enough time’ and ‘urgency’ to prod me into getting things done.

Put things in priority. I have to put the unpleasant things first. Its those things I end up avoiding or putting off because they’re unpleasant in some fashion.

Give myself enough time. Sometimes I think I give up too soon, so this time I’m giving my end goals more time to get there. Losing weight, finishing a novel, or completing a project require effort and time to reach success.

So consider what changes you want, and what things you need to change in your behavior or attitude to get you there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writer, Writer Wednesday

Leave a Reply

