The end of the month draws nigh

For those enduring the NaNoWriMo contest this month, I feel your pain. I remember the dreaded few weeks of writing, with cramping hands, writing burnout, and the inner editor screaming in hysterics. I did the NaNoWriMo a few years ago…and I doubt I’ll ever put myself through that again.

I am, however, glad I did write through completion. I wasn’t happy with the final results of a story, but the experience taught me much about writing, my family’s support, and, more importantly, that I can do the 1700 words a day.

I also discovered writing daily burns me out. I need a day or two off to readjust and recoup before plunging into writing once more. This is not to say I’m not writing inside my head. It’s the physical act of writing I find exhausting at times.

Keep up the writing, and luck to those working through the November NaNoWriMo!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writer

Leave a Reply

