A new tip for productivity

brightideaAs a homeschooling mom, I do all my planning for the week on Sundays. I use a spreadsheet that lays out the full week, organizes by topic, and lets me see in one page what needs to be done, and even how to do it.

So it occurred to me the other day- Why don’t I use the same technique for writing?

writing plannerWriting Planner– I created a table with 7 columns for each day of the week, and the rows are broken up on labels such as;

Appointments– to list important meetings I must attend (and I add the time).

Writing– This is writing specific to stories and things I will publish.

Blogging– With keeping a blogging schedule, I find its faster to post and even brainstorm ideas by knowing when I need to update a new post.

Marketing– This includes things I do for my web sites, blogs, and my business (learnthepc.net).

Other includes specific projects I’m working on. This could also include something like making a card for someone’s birthday.

Exercise– This was recently added to remind me that I need to exercise regularly. Sitting at the computer all day is not healthy, if not dangerous to your health. Get up and move. Take a walk, Join a gym. Don’t be a lump.

Web Sites– As a webmaster (or blogger), you should spent some time working on updating design, checking comments, and making sure links are active.

Not everything is scheduled every day, but this seriously improved my focus on what needs to get done and when it needs doing.

Feel free to use my idea, and let me know if it work out for you.

2 Comments

Filed under Links, Tuesday Tip

2 responses to “A new tip for productivity

  1. Pingback: Writing | Pearltrees

  2. Pingback: My Top Ten Posts | A Writer's Journey

Leave a Reply

