The slippery slope of a shirking slacker

Once again, my apologies, dear readers, of neglecting this blog. I fully intend on getting myself on a writing schedule after next week. Starting tomorrow, I’m watching my 2 year old for five days, 24 hrs a day, while her family is away. I doubt I’ll have much time for writing, and if I do, and its blithering, you’ll know why.

The past writer’s meetup consisted of the topic of critique but more importantly, writer’s block. Yes, even writing/saying that can send shivers down an author’s spine. As I’ve written before, there are many causes and cures of such maladies, but for myself, the worst condition is those moments I find myself completely devoid of clarity. I reread my stuff only to find its that of a third grader (and likely some third graders writer better).

I always have plenty of subjects to write about. I even keep lists of topics, ideas, subject materials, and brainstorming I often do. None of which helps if I can’t compose a sentence. Its the actual word-weaving that I find a harrowing experience.

Last week I found myself in that blissful moment of clarity, eloquence, and creative flow. To me, that’s heaven. I often remain in that moment as long as possible because the next day, I’m a blithering idiot. Whatever grace my muse set upon me abandons me. I hate that.

As my fellow writers assert, write anyway and edit later. There’s wisdom in this advice, but also difficultly for me. I feel as though I’m plodding through, and its somewhat painful to reread and try to fix it later. Its quite possibly a necessary evil I must endure.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog, Prompt

2 responses to “The slippery slope of a shirking slacker

  1. Good tips. I usually keep a notebook (or two) at my work desk. Most days I’m at work an hour before my day actually begins so I would take this time to write. I have a 7-year old son who keeps me busy; but, since I’m (mostly) a YA writer he usually inspires new ideas for me.

    🙂

    Like

    • I think its a very healthy attitude to take as a stay at home writer (mom) to see their child more of way towards inspiration than something that might hinder their writing. That alone is a great tip!
      😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

