I write like Poe?

I write like
Edgar Allan Poe

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

 

Online analyzers can be a fun waste of time, but somehow I doubt my style or writing Voice even remotely reflects that of Edgar Allen Poe.

Such sites use scripts to make these assessments, looking for phrases, lengths of words, types of words, and other components to sum up your style. Like any program, however, its limited, and you needs to question the results.

Online analyzers that decipher male or female styles label my writing as primarily male. This assumes, of course, that men and women write in a certain way.

Readability statistics, or he Flesch/Flesch–Kincaid readability test  (or grade level) offer writers a method to discern their level of writing. It rates ease of reading, and estimates the grade level to which you write.

MS Word has this built in. Click this link to discover how to turn this feature on, or use this site to view your statistics. You can also check out this site to use an online analyzer that uses the same scoring method.

I wouldn’t over think your writing too much. My first reaction was my writing was at a 7th grade level, but that’s average for story telling. Grade 12 or higher scores papers such as legal documents, thesis, and reports. Higher doesn’t mean better, nor does a low score mean your writing stinks.

I appreciate the MS Word readability stats to let me know how my passive voice continues to lurk with my writing. Using this tool enables me to be aware of passive voice, and to change accordingly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Handy Links and Resources, resources

Leave a Reply

