Something different- a writer’s meme

I found this meme at Got Muse? and felt it might be fun to do;

1) Where do you write?

Mostly on my desktop computer in my office. Sometimes I jot things down in a notebook I keep in my purse.

2) When do you write?

I try to do writing in the morning, but evenings are the best time for me.

3) Planner or Pantser?

I generally write by just writing whatever inspires me in the moment, but stories I tend to do chapter by chapter plotlines.

4) Coffee or tea?

Coffee!

5) Pen and paper, or computer?

Mostly computer. My handwriting is pretty bad.

6) What gets you in the writing mood?

If I get the house to myself and find the writing bug (usually hiding somewhere in the dark recesses of my mind).

7) What pulls you out of the writing mood?

When people want to come into my office to use the laptop or just need to ask me something. (Which my husband does….and often).

8 What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever read/heard/received?

A writer is someone who writes. An author is someone is published. This really hit me because I always said I never really thought I was a ‘real’ writer because I didn’t publish much. A friend told me he considered that if I were paid for what I wrote; I was an author.

9) Got muse?

Not lately. I have to force myself to write.

10) Who is the biggest supporter of your writing?

My friends, and my writing group.

11) Sound or Silence?

Silence, but I will listen to music sometimes to spark some creativity.

3 Comments

Filed under Author

3 responses to “Something different- a writer’s meme

  1. Great answers all around. I like these memes, they help me explore how I write and see how others do it as well.

    Like

  2. Like Ralfast, I enjoy seeing the different paths creativity take for all of us and I enjoyed your answers. I also wanted to comment on the writer vs. author aspect — I have always felt this way, that if writing is a passion and you are able to create worlds, big or small, in words then you are a writer. You do not need any more justification than that. You are a writer because you would not live without writing in one form or another.

    Like

  3. I agree. I’d like to add something about the creative temperament. This is a state of mind, a way you see the world. Someone says something and you think, hmmm what if… or something happens and it haunts you, because it seems to say something wider about the human condition. It took me years to realise that most other people didn’t think like this, and that therefore I belonged to the smaller group of people who did. Then to become a writer, you have to spend time writing – it has to be a habit and a priority, a regular part of your life like your gym sessions or walking the dog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

