Flog- Fake Blog

I submitted my blog to a site called Reviewme more as an experiment than any expectation to monetize this e-journal. After all, I don’t get the numbers that constitutes as a successful blog, so I didn’t expect them to accept this into their ranks. I wanted to network, to find more readers, and to see how the process works. What I didn’t expect was to receive an email with a list of reasons as to why this blog was rejected. I found ‘not enough subscribers’ (yep, expected that), and ‘blog doesn’t have enough posts’. (Yep, expected that too because I now you have to have huge amounts of entries and readers to monetize.) Then I read “blog suspected to be fake”. Eh?! Fake?! How do they figure that one?

I emailed them to ask, but received an oblique and vague reply. I looked up ‘fake blog’ and found the definition is a flog (fake-blog) pretending to be one or more people writing a blog out of pure enjoyment or enlightened self-interest, when in reality the whole blog is a carefully crafted piece of advertising. How insulting! This blog simply includes entries for writers about writing. I write this blog so that its a resources for all manner of writers, and entries include tons of links and resources I can refer back for myself as well. Although it would be nice to get paid for this effort, I don’t.

Add the fact that Reviewme is a site encouraging reviews to which you get paid for, which encourages flogging, I find the accusation of being fake even more repugnant.  A blog that includes reviews to which you get paid for would in fact then be a flog, wouldn’t it?  Reviewme.com would be promoting the very thing they accuse my blog of being. Not that I even have a problem with reviews in blogs. I would much rather read a first hand review by a writer I like. I would even encourage adding said reviews as long as the writing is honest and straight forward.

I know exactly what they mean by a flog as well. Too often I encounter in my journeys on the web blogs that are obviously a means to monetize. I can even respect this except some tend towards being excessive, giving that kitschy marketing language that always makes me cringe. Words like ‘amazing’ or the empty promises of giving information without actually giving anything leaves me cold.

This experience provides me some time to reflect on what I expect from this blog, and although it would be nice to make money by writing and putting in the effort, I refuse to add my blog to sites such as this. (even as an experiment). I would suggest sites that promote your actual writing such as Associated Content, which links back to your writing instead, or Helium.com. If you wish to write reviews, try Epinions.com. I’ve made some money from them and enjoy the honest reviews found there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Writer

Leave a Reply

