Top 10 Things I Learned About Writing (includes video)

learnedwritingI’ve been working on this April Daily Vlog Challenge I put to myself, to vlog every day. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to talk about just one subject, but I decided to pick a few days out of each week to talk about writing.

The video “Top 10 Things I Learned About Writing” includes that which I discovered as truths to the writing process.

They are;

  1. Doubt is part of the writing process.
  2. You don’t need to start at the very beginning of a novel.
  3. Good spelling, grammar, and punctuation are the tools of our trade- don’t underestimate them!
  4. Learn the writing rules to better understand when and where you can break them.
  5. Feedback is essential to the writing process.
  6. There is no secret (no special trick) to writing.
  7. Rejection is a part of the publishing process.
  8. Self publishing is quickly losing its stigma as a publishing cheat.
  9. Different genres of writing often have different rules.
  10. Final drafts are crap (and should you shouldn’t expect them to be perfect)

In the video, I go over a bit more depth over each, but bear in mind that I’m still getting used to the vlogging medium, and a bit nervous still about presenting myself. I’d appreciate ideas, comments, feedback (constructive), and hope you enjoy the video.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Friday Fun Tip, Writer

Leave a Reply

