Writer’s New Year Plans

IMG_0583

Well, we made it through another apocalypse. Not that I worried at all; I don’t believe in end-of-the-world fear-mongering, and already understood that the Mayan ‘prophecy’ meant a new era- not the end of the world.

That being said, this means we still need to plan for the year ahead.

My 2013 Writing Goals;

  1. Write Daily. I’ll be taking the first moments of the early a.m., sipping my Hazelnut coffee, while plotting to take over the world new storylines. I’ve since given up on the idea that I need evenings to write. I can do strive for evening writing moments, but I recognize the goal is to get words to page and do whatever it takes to get there.
  2. Write productively. What I mean by this goal is to focus on writing-for-publication. My writing needs to lead me somewhere, not just entertainment value. This might mean less blogging and journaling, and more writing stories and articles.
  3. Less time wasting. Pinterest and Facebook are biggest time suckers in my life right now. I intend on using them in small increments, using a timer, if necessary, and to  limit my time on them (and other sites).
  4. Learn and implement marketing. As authors, we need to understand marketing, whether we print publish or publish electronically. Getting oneself read should be as important as producing a book.

What are your goals for 2013? Post in comments.

Prompt: If you could re-do a New Year’s Eve resolution, what changes would you make? How do you suppose successful resolutions impacts our lives? Write about past versus future goals.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author, Goals, Writer

Leave a Reply

